A tale of artists, intrigue, and the magical renaissance

No More Forced Votes

Hello lovely readers!

The decision to require voting on TopWebFiction to access the Twisted Smut interludes has been a rather controversial one ever since Twisted Cogs’ inception. Add in problems with the pass-through that would take a vote but not give access, readers feeling used or skeeved out, and eventually I’ve come to the conclusion that I should remove the voting requirement from Twisted Smut.

So, if you’ve been avoiding reading Twisted Smut chapters due to the voting mechanism, now is a great time for an archive binge! Enjoy, and I’ll see you all next Sunday for the regularly scheduled chapter!

7 responses

  1. I’ll confess that I was watching this tactic with interest. Twisted Cogs is definitely well-ranked on TWF, but I couldn’t guess how much of that was due to the vote incentive. Personally, I’ve been pondering ways to encourage voting and wondered how well this was doing for you. If you’ve decided to drop it, I guess I’ll take that as an answer!

    Like

    2014-10-30 at 10:52 am

    • It was in fact doing very, very well for me…the problem was that, as many readers pointed out, it felt a little manipulative. I don’t want my readers to feel like I’m using them, so back to manual voting I go :)

      Like

      2014-10-30 at 10:58 am

  2. hunh, i liked it, it had a feel of a bonus comic with vote, which is a very common tactic for topwebcomics. Perhaps you can continue the mechanic with some other bonus things? although, if the passthrough wasnt working, that sucks.

    Like

    2014-10-30 at 10:55 am

    • Well, I decided to stop mostly due to not wanting to make readers vote when they didn’t want to, so that’d probably be the same for other bonus things as well :)

      I’m sure dedicated fans will keep on voting for Twisted Cogs though, so I’m not too worried about losing readers

      Like

      2014-10-30 at 11:00 am

  3. Reader loyalty and reader engagement, I’ve found, are different things. I’m getting plenty of hits, but there doesn’t seem to be much correlation between that and votes sometimes.

    Like

    2014-10-30 at 11:32 am

    • im forgetful. if you throw an exhortation and link at the begining and end of every chapter, I’ll generally remember to hit it.

      Like

      2014-10-30 at 5:18 pm

  4. panster

    Even though I vote for Twisted Cogs every time you post a reminder in the comments, I must admit the system you set up didn’t require people to actually do so. It was really simple to edit the link to any bonus content to avoid the redirect to topwebfiction.

    Like

    2014-10-31 at 9:40 pm

Leave a Reply

