A tale of artists, intrigue, and the magical renaissance

Llama-pause

That’s right, another pause in Twisted Cogs, I’m afraid.

I’m going to be honest with you, lovely readers, I sorta-kinda have a chapter written, but it’s…incredibly short and quite frankly too poor in quality for me to post it. A brief pause is in order, and I will be bringing you a much longer, much better update next Sunday!

Until then, perhaps consider checking out some other awesome serials!


Godpunk – Dark, grim, amazing noir-fantasy. I won’t ruin any details, but honestly, this is a beautiful story, I highly recommend it. (It is dark and contains violence and frank discussion of sex, though, so minors stay out)

Continue Online – I’ve been seeing a lot of the VR genre pop up in serialized fiction lately, the concept of a person in a virtual or game world. If you want a particularly well-written and epic introduction to the genre, I recommend this story!

6 responses

  1. AvidFan

    Godpunk sounds interesting (from your description), so I’ll go check it out… I just hope I have enough tabs left to open it. (The browser I’m using has a limit, and automatically closes the oldest one if you open too many.)

    Continue Online…. SAO ruined it for me (not because it was bad, but because I loved it… Although the more recent seasons are ruining it.)
    I’ll check out its bio or some reviews first, may check it out if it sounds original (not “original” original, just something I’ve yet to find).

    Twisted Cogs on the other hand… I’ll have to give it a complete pass. It’s intriguing plot and lovable protagonist are just too goo- I mean ba- ARGH! It’s no use. I can’t bad mouth it. It’s excellent. (Can’t even say good, as good isn’t good enough for how good this story is.)
    But Maddi keeps torturing us with cliff hangers and making us wait a week… Aren’t cruel and unusual punishments banned by the Geneva Convention? (I’m pretty sure a captive audience is counted as a prisoner of war… And that TWF counts as a war zone…)

    Lastly, since my comment isn’t long enough already, am I the only one who keeps web serials open in tabs? (Which has the unfortunate side effect of never seeing the homepage, and thus probably missing half these messages? The current one I only saw because I noticed a lack of a new chapter and the arrow at the bottom.)

    Like

    2015-07-23 at 7:40 am

    • Duckfan77

      I used to keep them in tabs, but recently switched to an rss reader to put them all in one spot. I just go to the site from there. I recommend feedly, just because of its free app and ease of use.

      Like

      2015-07-23 at 12:25 pm

    • Oh nooo SAO’s later seasons are bad? That’s really disappointing, as I read the manga and always loved it, and I always had the vague idea that I would someday watch the anime. *sigh*

      I am so minimalistic with my tabs that you’d think they cost me money. It is funny you mention missing these updates though; I’ve found that so many of my readers have ways of reading that hadn’t ever occurred to me. Some (like you :P) never see the front page, some never even see that site, they subscribe/follow and then read the updates in their email, some people read it on their phones only. Such a wide range of experience, sometimes it’s hard to keep up in my head!

      Like

      2015-07-23 at 4:09 pm

      • AvidFan

        They’re not bad! It’s just that nothing can beat the feeling that the first season gave…. (And a certain trope that I dislike started rearing its head.)

        Like

        2015-07-24 at 8:49 am

  2. AvidFan

    MADDI. WHAT THE- JUST WHAT ON EARTH DID YOU MAKE ME START READING!? I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT IS HAPPENING. BUT I STILL CAN’T STOP READING IN THE HOPE THAT MAYBE I WILL LATER. (I’m up to 2.1. Please tell me I will. Please. x_x )

    Oh, and I noticed that the two serials you have recommended aren’t in your “OTHER WEB SERIALS” list.
    Anyway, can’t wait for your next update, seems MoL might update at around the same time, nice to know I’ll have plenty of my favourite web serials to read back-to-back. :D

    Like

    2015-07-23 at 9:32 am

    • I KNOW RIGHT? SO GOOD! (ps, yes, it will, don’t worry. I’m not a huge fan of the “here’s a mystery that will never be solved” style of storytelling)

      I’ll certainly be putting both of these on that list at some point, that list needs cleaning up anyways.

      Like

      2015-07-23 at 4:12 pm

Leave a Reply

