A tale of artists, intrigue, and the magical renaissance

Updates and Announcements

Hello my lovely readers! I have a few announcements about some changes that’ll be happening starting this week!

Twisted Cogs Update Schedule

Updates of Twisted Cogs will be slowing down for the foreseeable future, moving from two updates a week down to one, every Sunday at 11:59pm, CST. On the plus side, this means that you’ll probably see an increase in average chapter length for each update! While a part of me is sad that I won’t be spending as much time every week in the world of Italoza, I must admit I’m mostly excited at the prospect of continuing to work with Twisted Cogs while also starting my newest project.

Announcing Beta Key

Eight years, five months, three days, two hours, one minute and one second ago, an event occurred that changed the world as we know it. In the blink of an eye the screen of reality glitched, and the humans saw the lines of code that ran the world, saw the stats and numbers and tags that had been hidden from them for so long.

For the first time, mankind could access their character sheets, they could see their experience and life bars, and they realized how discrete the rules of reality really were. They realized they could game it, that it was a game.

The humans called it “The Phenomenon.” The glyches called it an opportunity. The world core called it her birthday. But for Keegan Wright, a nobody in his dead-end job, it was just another way to measure how much of a loser he really was. He had no clue that his world was about to change, just as drastically as the world around him had.

What is Beta Key?

Beta Key is a new book by Malcolm Hemmings, author of Twisted Cogs. Set in our world-turned-virtual-reality, it details the adventures of Keegan Wright and his journey from loser to hero. The estimated completion date for Beta Key is February 1st, and the estimated release date is March 1st, 2016.

What if I want to read it while it’s being written?

I love letting my readers see my work as it unfolds! If you would like to read Beta Key as it’s being written, and also to support the author and help fund things like editing and cover design, there are two easy methods you can use!

  1. You can sign up as a patron on Patreon, and donate a minimum of a dollar a month!
  2. You can get a subscription for a flat, one-time donation of at least $7! (This requires a bit of setup, I’ll put this link up as soon as it’s available)

With either method, you’ll be added to an email list and given access to every chapter of Beta Key written so far, as well as an access feed to new chapters as they come out.

How will I know if I want to read it or not?

My goal is to write one chapter of Beta Key every week, and for the first three weeks I’ll be posting the chapters publicly! This means that the first three chapters will be free to read and enjoy. The first chapter will be available this Thursday, July 30th.

 

I hope you all are just as excited as I am to visit this new world! Thanks for reading!

6 responses

  1. have to say beta key must be really darn good to wash out the bad image i have of virtual reality novels, but i’ll give it the benefit of a doubt.

    most I’ve read eventually start to chant numbers and it’s about as interesting as reading a tax report.

    Like

    2015-07-27 at 12:48 am

  2. Aw, what will I do now with my Wednesday nights? :3

    I wish you the best of luck with your new book! I hope you enjoy yourself, and I hope to have the opportunity to read it, too.

    Like

    2015-07-27 at 1:41 am

  3. Unmaker

    Speaking of virtual realities, I really liked the two links that were on the previous announcement (the announcement of delay), but I read them from a computer I don’t normally use so I no longer have them. Could you point me to them please?

    Like

    2015-07-27 at 9:06 am

    • Godpunk- https://megapulp.wordpress.com/2015/05/02/1-1/
      Continue Online-https://frustratedego.wordpress.com/continue-online/chapter-list/59-2/

      Most VR stories are fanfiction or translated works. They have a tendency to get caught up in the numbers. Continue avoids much of that. As will Beta as far as I know.

      Like

      2015-07-27 at 11:33 am

      • Unmaker

        Thank you! Agreed on Continued Online – it is really hard to come up with a good flexible game system and the writer who tries is setting two hard goals (a game and a story). The story does not list stats and all of the system messages are plot points for the character and/or sarcastic humor.

        Liked by 1 person

        2015-07-27 at 2:10 pm

  4. Oh, man, I wish I had heard of this one sooner. I’d love to read a novel with a protagonist that shares my name – However different it’s spelled.

    Like

    2016-12-17 at 1:50 pm

Leave a Reply

